Keeping The Faith

Life's Like This — Faith is oftentimes a battle, especially in the midst of overwhelming grief. It has been said that nothing on this earth lasts forever, except perhaps the love you can hold in your heart for one of God's creations. Such is the love I have in my heart for my beloved Golden Retriever, Sweety. If ever there was a dog that could capture the hearts of people she came in contact with, Sweety was such a dog. For over seven years, Sweety lived up to her name. Not only did she enrich the lives of my family and friends, but she touched the hearts of countless others with her beauty and loving personality. Sweety was a true blessing from God. On July 5, 2012, Sweety went to “Doggy Heaven” after being diagnosed with Osteo-Sarcoma, a bone cancer that left her lame and with a poor prognosis of leading a healthy and quality life. But while she is now gone, the memories of how she touched my life are firmly embedded in my heart and mind. And for those memories I am deeply grateful. And yet, coping with her loss is a daily struggle, one that I wish I did not have to go through. Sweety was such an integral part of my life. All around me are reminders of things we did together and of the life we shared since she was six weeks of age.

For those of us that are dog lovers, we know the bond that can be formed between man's best friend and their human companions. They can become as much a part of our family as any human family member can be. And when we lose them, the stages of grief we experience are much like what we can experience with their human counterparts, as described by Elisabeth Kubler-Ross, in her book on “Death and Dying”. For me, I find myself in the first stage — denial shock and numbness. I was with her at the end, from the moment her last breath escaped, but yet memories of her have been so ingrained in me, that I can't help but think I need to rush home to feed her, to potty her, or to feel the energy and love she not only gave to me, but to so many others. Sweety had her way of endearing herself to me and my wife that have left us with countless memories that we will never part with. She often would rock back on her hind feet and lift her paws as if she was greeting us for the first time. In fact, with most people she met, she would greet them in this manner. To me, she was not just a dog — she was my buddy, a friend that I could do things with, share my life with, and who gave me unconditional love, no matter what mood I was in. I could always count on her, to wag her tail, to smile her doggy smile, to lick my hand, and to wait by the door or window to greet me when I came home. She was a faithful and loving companion that brought me so much happiness.

I will never forget how when I sat upon the floor with my legs parted, that she would walk up and sit face to face with me, or how she would jump up on my lap. It was at these moments that we would enjoy what has been dubbed, a “Mind-Meld”. So many memories, so much love that we shared and that I will always cherish. It is at times like this that the loss of a beloved pet can cause you to lose faith, where you may not want to open your heart up to love another dog, where you might think that you are betraying the love and memories of the pet you lost. Coming to terms with the different stages of grief is essential for recovery and for finding hope and joy once again. It is important to always keep the faith, no matter how painful a loss may be. I would be remiss if I shared with you the answer to coping when I am in the process of recovery myself. But this much I do know, God had truly blessed me with an amazing dog, one that brought so much joy to the lives of so many. People who have gotten to know her over the years are saddened by her passing but share with me the memories of a dog that was extremely special and very much loved.

 

Leave a comment